Obligatory Welcome

I feel like it's time to document my journey away from patzer-y towards mastery. I have a dream, among other ambitious lifelong goals, to become a chess master. For the United States Chess Federation, that's a rating of 2200. According to their website, less than 1% of rated players reach that level. Therefore, if I am to be serious in making something of this hobby, I feel that it is necessary to not only lay out my plans, but to document my attempt. If no one reads this blog, it will be an internal reflection. If it gains a following, then hopefully it serves as a useful guidepost.

My goals are to interject fun commentary, puzzles, and learning modules which will hopefully augment my game through the process of creating this content. For now, here's a straightforward puzzle from a game I just played. Click the next arrow to see the answer.

Sorry. This viewer is no longer available...